/All Set For NDC Parliamentary Primaries

All Set For NDC Parliamentary Primaries

General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress, NDC, Johnson Asiedu Nketia, has announced the Party’s readiness for the upcoming party Parliamentary primaries.

At a press briefing in Accra, he stated that the primaries is coming off on Saturday 24th August 2019 as already scheduled with polling stations opening at 7am and closing at 5pm.

The General Secretary revealed that the primaries will not come off in five constituencies. These constituencies include, Asawase, Fanteakwa North, Yilo Krobo, Mpohor and. Ellembelle.

He explained that due to some unresolved issues surrounding the qualification of some aspirants, elections in these area had been put on hold.

Mr Nketiah added that there will also be no election in 39 constituencies as aspirants are going unopposed.

He noted that a total of 524 aspirants have been cleared to contest the election and 157 constituencies will be eligible to vote.

Mr. Asiedu Nketiah said the polls will be supervised by the Electoral Commission, adding that every branch register will be available at the polling centres for clarification.

He indicated that the primary document for identification for delegates to cast their vote is the National Voters ID or any other National ID as well as the party’s ID,

Mr. Asiedu Nketiah stated that mobile phones and picture taking will not be allowed at the polling station.

He further indicated that every aspirant will be permitted to be accompanied by not more than three persons and anyone caught flouting the rules of the election will not be allowed to vote.

Mr. Asiedu Nketiah urged all delegates to conduct themselves in the best possible manner, adding that aspirants are not to campaign around the voting centre.

Delegates who are eligible to vote in the parliamentary primaries include branch executives, committee members, the constituency executive committee members and members of the regional executive committee who are members of a branch in the constituency.

The rest are, former ministers and former deputy ministers who are members of the party and who are members of a branch in the constituency.

Others include former council of state members who are members of the party and are members of the branch in that constituency. The list also include former Presidential staffers who are members of the party, former Ambassadors and High Commissioners who are also members of the party.

Source: WestAfrica24.com